36th Annual Big Muddy Film Jurors

The 36th Annual Big Muddy Film Festival is proud to announce the official jury for the 2014 festival. Prizes will be awarded in each of the festival’s categories including Animation, Documentary, Experimental and Narrative. The winning films will be announced at the Big Muddy Film Festival Awards Ceremony at the end of the festival.

Jurors include:


Eliza Hittman

Eliza Hittman is an award-winning filmmaker, born and based in New York City. She received an MFA from CalArts, School of Film / Video (2010). Her critically acclaimed debut feature film “It Felt Like Love” premiered at the Sundance Film Festival in and the International Film Festival Rotterdam in the Tiger Competition in 2013. It also screened at London BFI, MoMA, Munich, Melbourne, Viennale and Durban. It was voted one of the Top Ten films at Sundance in Film Comment by Laura Kern. She was recently named one of Filmmaker Magazine’s 25 New Faces of Indie Film. She currently teaches graduate level film directing at Columbia University, School of the Arts.


 Julie Perini

Julie Perini creates experimental and documentary videos/films, installations, and live events. Originally from Poughkeepie, NY, Julie has been exploring her immediate surroundings with cameras since age 15 when she discovered a VHS camcorder in her parent’s suburban home. Her work often explores the areas between fact and fiction, staged and improvised, personal and political. She holds a BS from Cornell University and an MFA from the Department of Media Study at the University at Buffalo. Julie is an Assistant Professor in the School of Art + Design at Portland State University in Portland, Oregon.

Juror Website: http://julieperini.org/


Michael Robinson

Michael Robinson is an American film, video, and collage artist whose work explores the joys and dangers of mediated experience, riding the fine lines between humor and terror, nostalgia and contempt, ecstasy and hysteria. His work has shown internationally at festivals, museums, and galleries including the 2012 Whitney Biennial, the New York Film Festival, the BFI London Film Festival, REDCAT Los Angeles, MoMA P.S.1, the Walker Art Center, Tate Modern, and the International Film Festival Rotterdam.  Robinson was the recipient of a 2012 Creative Capital grant, a 2012 Kazuko Trust Award, and a 2011-2012 Film/Video Residency Award from the Wexner Center for the Arts.  He was featured as one of the “50 Best Filmmakers Under 50” by Cinema Scope magazine in 2012, and listed as one of the top ten avant-garde filmmakers of the 2000’s by Film Comment magazine.

Juror Website: http://www.poisonberries.net/about.html


Leave a Reply